thebackpacker.com - backpacking, hiking and camping Welcome to thebackpacker.com
create account   login  
     home : trailtalk
    articles  beginners  gear  links  pictures            

EEEEEEEEK! a virus?

View Messages

Viewing posts 1 to 39 of 39 messages posted.

To add this thread as a favorites, you need to first login.
 

I just typed into a web window something like: www.frontierair.com (looking for Frontier airlines)

A small box popped up that said something like warning, you have the W (something 21). It said click here to run Internet Explorer to clean it.

which, in my horror at seeing that message, I did.

I have Norton AV on my machine, 2004, but it isn't working right.

So, am I doomed?
lizs
12:47:17 AM
9/17/03

Boy lizs, you've hit a string of bad luck lately with the ole 'puter. I don't see how running Internet Explorer could clean it.
Go to housecall.antivirus.com and do a virus scan.
StickmanWalking
12:51:56 AM
9/17/03

I'm with you on that I REALLY like Trend PC-Cillin (housecalls) virus protection. House calls found my problem & that's why I switched over to them many moons ago.
catskhiker
4:49:36 AM
9/17/03

No. It is pop-up spam. Clicking OK takes you to a website selling a firewall.

If your machine is not working right, it is not related.
viOliN
7:06:25 AM
9/17/03

OK, if anyone would know, it would be the ole master of tricks, Violin. I do run a pop-up stopper, so I have to use "control" when I go to open a second or third etc. browser window. And I had done that, because I needed to get a little java window for some travel stuff. However, I did not then get the firewall site. But I suppose that's because by that time I was off the control key, so pop-ups were being stopped again.
lizs
7:46:45 AM
9/17/03

I looked up
on google and got:

domains for sale: ....But when somebody runs a server for nopurpose but to provide placeholders for domains they will sell at apremium to somebody else, I think that's not in the public interest. Frontier air is not only a shortened form of the corporate nameFrontier Airlines. But there's no real webpage at frontierair.com.Just a pitch for their web services." I have always believed that there is a special place in hell reserved" for the bottom feeders who speculate in domains and vanity 800" numbers.
pedxing
10:43:33 AM
9/17/03

To be safe, you should really go do a free scan of your computer just to be sure.
ViOLiN
2:20:43 PM
9/17/03

Sounds more like she has some spyware onboard. I would install something to like Spybot to get rid of the phoney virus popup notifications etc in addition to a Firewall (like Zone Alarm) and Norton AV.
Gear Slut
2:25:42 PM
9/17/03

stop the viol-links!
doth the Viol man want to be sure his name is on the list of those for whom a special place is reserved.

(always pass your cursor over a viol link before clicking)
pedxing
2:26:22 PM
9/17/03

don't tell me you clicked on that, Ped! i've learned my lesson, after 257 times. ha!
lyra
2:34:06 PM
9/17/03

LOL! No I didn't click, I always pass my cursor over his links first (i've only been in viol purgatory twice - but those flashbacks overwhelm me everytime I see that url)
pedxing
2:37:35 PM
9/17/03

Nope, not spyware slutsky. Mine's clean and I have both software and hardware firewalls. It's just a javascript trick from the cybersquatter. It also redirects to http://www2.vipfares.com/.


I only wish I knew what ped was babbling on about.
ViOLiN
2:45:13 PM
9/17/03

To get rid of spywhere I use Ad-Vent 6.0 pro a very good program!


8)
Crazy Mike Backpacks
4:11:40 PM
9/17/03

Violin, I think Minster Creek could use your link to the scanning program over on the Congrats to Creek Dancer thread. Seems he downloaded another virus from a link I posted and needs something to clean his computer up.
Geobeet
4:15:03 PM
9/17/03

That poor Personage!
ViOLiN
4:18:37 PM
9/17/03

I received four e-mails today with attachments that did not look to good. I did a multiple delete for all four of them. The most recent, which appeared in the "Outlook Express" window, said something like:
"This message arrived at ... dispatch office with a virus. It has been corrected in the attachment ..."
Well, I did not bite(open the attachments). From TT I've learned to "ignore."
nowslimmer
4:29:31 PM
2/24/04

You should be re-named to nowsmarter
flyguy6x
4:30:56 PM
2/24/04

I wonder what flyguy6x said. Guess I need to edit my "ignore" list.







LOL
nowslimmer
4:43:05 PM
2/24/04

Yes!
Someone at work was dumb enough to open it today! My Company has blocked access to email sites. Hope they don't block all internet access, I know y'all miss me if they do!
bearmagnet
4:48:41 PM
2/24/04

I was told by our ISP that if the preview window is open, even if you didn't open the infected e-mail, the preview window had basically already opened it and could potentialy infect your computer. They disabled everybodies preview windows in our office.
Chief
5:31:37 PM
2/24/04

Didn't someone have to open the attachment first? If not then I'm glad I don't use "preview"!
bearmagnet
5:56:37 PM
2/24/04

Word
There were several viruses that exploit the preview feature.
Violin
6:07:45 PM
2/24/04

Yeah I had 4 on my email at work today, but they were all listed as attachments.
StickmanWalking
6:18:36 PM
2/24/04

doesn't the virus screener remove the nasties before it hits the preview pane?
Roam Around
6:20:11 PM
2/24/04

I was told it doesn't and therefore when using Outlook not to have the preview function turned on.
StickmanWalking
6:23:08 PM
2/24/04

Is it a coincidence that my company shut down access to outside email providers?
bearmagnet
6:25:00 PM
2/24/04

Had another e-mail with an attachment. The same message was on display. Maybe it is legitimate, RoadRunner is supposed to do a check.

StickmanWalking - Do you know how to turn off the Preview Function?
nowslimmer
6:39:55 PM
2/24/04

Yeah, HOW??
lizs
7:45:59 PM
2/24/04

Road Runner
Inbound Virus Filtering

"The virus filtering will screen your incoming e-mail attachments for over 50,000 known viruses, and more virus definitions are added on a regular basis."

It appears that Road Runner is doing a good job. Two more arrived, plus one returned mail for an incorrect address. So my address is being used as a sender, too.
nowslimmer
9:37:03 PM
2/24/04

I'm sorry, I don't remember how to turn the preview window off. I configured it about 3 years ago when our email system was kicking into high gear, and I haven't fooled with it since. I only check my work email a couple of times a month, and then only to clean it out.
StickmanWalking
10:08:41 PM
2/24/04

sounds like if you are sending stuff you aready have the virus i would run a antivirus program and also see what the experts are saying you should do to get rid of this partiuarl strain.
photoguy190
11:31:41 PM
2/24/04

In Outlook, on the top menu, choose "view" then you can click "preview pane" to turn it on or off.

In Outlook express, on the top menu choose "view" then "Layout", and there's a checkbox for the preview pane.
cindy_lu
5:39:43 AM
2/25/04

In Outlook, each folder's option is separate, so you have to select it while in each folder. This is important if you have incoming email go automatically to another folder.

In Outlook express the layout applies to everything, so you only have to do it once.
cindy_lu
5:43:37 AM
2/25/04

birthday invitations
I've mass mailed birthday invitations to a Alabama addy on a sand road. through the influx of slow connections and those hikers that get back here from soaking feet and the cross of thier religion (pagens) we have shut all connections down. (we will not pay tax)

Bye Bye
ding bat
5:51:13 AM
2/25/04

Thanks, cindy_lu.
nowslimmer
6:21:08 AM
2/25/04

There is a new variant of the MyDoom virus that deletes .doc, .xls and other files. If you're using Norton AntiVirus, make sure you keep those pattern files up to date. The latest Virus Definition File for Norton AntiVirus is 02/24/2004 rev. 17.

Symantec's name for the new name for MyDoom.F is W32.Mydoom.F@mm. More information can be found at
skiracer
7:35:34 AM
2/25/04

Crap...darn html

Symantec's info on MyDoom.F
skiracer
7:36:46 AM
2/25/04

lol @ skiracer.
happens to the best of us :)
cindy_lu
7:12:15 PM
2/25/04

Another trick some are using is a pop-up that looks like a normal Windows warning, like a javascript error on the page. When you click OK to keep running java, you are really saying "OK, hack my computer".

Unless you are very sure about the pop-up, close it by clicking the x in the upper right hand corner.
Violin
8:53:16 PM
2/25/04

<< back to Trail Talk main page

 

Post a Message

In order to post a response to this thread you must first be logged in. If you do not already have an account, you must first create a new account.

 

Login Form

Username:
Password:

 

 

Post a New Thread
Search Threads
Browse Archive

Create a New Account

Trail Talk Main Page