thebackpacker.com - backpacking, hiking and camping Welcome to thebackpacker.com
create account   login  
     home : trailtalk
    articles  beginners  gear  links  pictures            

Scheme preys on people who mistype 'Goog le.com'

View Messages

Viewing posts 1 to 14 of 14 messages posted.

To add this thread as a favorites, you need to first login.
 

http://news.zdnet.com/2100-1009_22-5686764.html

According to security specialist F-Secure, unsuspecting Web surfers may be bombarded with various types of Trojan horse threats, spyware and backdoors when they go to "Googkle.com." The scheme is meant to take advantage of sloppy or hurried typists, given that on most keyboards the letter "k" key sits next to the "l" needed to type "Google."
TownDawg
10:59:10 AM
4/28/05

go to www.whitehouse.com and see what pops up...lol
Ewker
11:04:21 AM
4/28/05

ya.. i know.. but I SURE would not type it at work.
TownDawg
11:06:18 AM
4/28/05

Try mistyping any major site URL and you will be served one of several link exchange services sites disguised as an off brand search engine. Usually with about four popup and when you leave you will get a javascript system alert box asking if you want to reset your homepage to their site. Well, that is unless they just go ahead and try to do it for you anyway.
humanpackmule
11:17:57 AM
4/28/05

"while another drops phony antivirus alerts on the victim's desktop that attempt to lure people to other infected Web sites."

I known about that ploy for years.. but i STILL think it should be illegal. I've known too many people who have fallen for that old trick.
TownDawg
11:20:10 AM
4/28/05

once upon a time...

my son wanted to visit the whitehouse website...and yeah...guess were he landed?
He started yelling for me and when I got there He sat at the computer with his eyes covered! LMAO

oh...click on it now!! It's no more!!! whitehouse.com porn site is gone! It's now a....well...guess!!!
Gemini
12:39:40 PM
4/28/05

It's a real estate site!!! OMG!!! NO!!!!!
SquirrelBait
3:26:47 AM
4/29/05

Yupp, surprised the heck out of me.

whitehouse.com is NOT a pornsite anymore!
Gemini
6:55:51 AM
4/29/05

sigh :(
last edited: 4/29/05 7:34:06 AM
Ewker
7:33:19 AM
4/29/05

goog-le.com for sale on eBay
check it out http://goog-le.com.

Bids anyone? :)
magic2006
11:25:12 AM
5/11/06

virtual real estate rules!
jurbania
12:52:49 PM
5/11/06

Gotta be careful with domains like this because if Google could prove that the domain name is being used in a way that is likley to confuse people into thinking you are using Google services they will sue you into the stone age.
Jimmy san
1:00:34 PM
5/11/06

Scheme preys on people who buy typosquatting URLs.
Sarge
1:03:06 PM
5/11/06

I just bought it--Always wanted to be like Fred.
salebored
1:28:16 PM
5/11/06

<< back to Trail Talk main page

 

Post a Message

In order to post a response to this thread you must first be logged in. If you do not already have an account, you must first create a new account.

 

Login Form

Username:
Password:

 

 

Post a New Thread
Search Threads
Browse Archive

Create a New Account

Trail Talk Main Page